It seems I cannot spend a weekend in Brissie without ending up in Southbank at one point. Last night, I met up with some ultimate disc kids for a movie and ice cream. License to Wed, pretty good movie. Even better with Aussies whispering jokes up and down the row with you, haha. Ice cream at a place called Cold Rock, ironically alot like Cold STONE or Marble Slab, but you know...they don't have cadbury chocolate to put in your ice cream at home. oh yea. stayed there for about two hours talking about frisbee, trips to take, things to do, when someone came up with the bright idea of going to play disc golf back at campus. when? right now. 11:30. i'm for it!
We all hopped in cars and met back up at one of the residential colleges where one of the guys lives to pick up jumpers (sweatshirts) and a few discs. We wound all through campus hitting various poles, trees, bins, signs, between and under poles, etc, etc, etc. It was great. I won a couple holes, but I definitely could improve a few of my throws, haha. The course that they made up a few months ago ended back up at Cromwell College, where we started. It had gotten pretty chilly, and it was about 2 in the morning by the time we finished the game, so heading back to Brett's room sounded like a good idea. The group of us sat around eating tim tams and watching this terrible, yet extremely funny, old Asian Horror film about a flying head chasing this group around an old hotel. It was 4 am before all of us left. Lets just say, it was the end to a good day.
Earlier in the day, Debbie and I went into the valley to look around. There was a market down there, so we tried on funky sunglasses and dresses and enjoyed the warm day. Debbie was on a mission for a printer which we tracked down, and I bought a capo for my new little guitar that I bought for only $60. It's pretty sweet. I like it. It's cute. :) The capo is pretty and gold, and the guys I bought it from enjoyed making fun of my accent and me saying, "Do YA'LL have any capos for acoustic guitars?" One replyed, "Now there's an accent, where are you from missy?" It was enjoyable.
The day before--Friday--Jess, Piper, and myself decided to take a tour of the XXXX brewery, which is the beer made in Queensland. Each state has its beer, apparently. NSW - Tooheys, Victoria - Victoria Bitter, Western Australia - Little Creatures, Southern Australia - Coopers...yea okay, well the tour was actually fun and kinda funny. they put some animation stuff into it which was really goofy, and they showed us old commericals. oh, aussie humor...haha. Seeing the production lines was pretty cool. At the end we got to sample. very enjoyable. I also picked up my guitar on friday. that was a trek. ugh. too many train changes. but i got it so it was worth it.
Today is a beautiful cloudless, warm, sunny day, and I'm gearing up for the Bronco's game that's in an hour! Brisbane Broncos are playing the Manly Sea Eagles over at Suncorp Stadium off of Milton Avenue. I'm pretty excited to go! Tonight i'm meeting up w/the frisbee kids once again for church on campus. Then believe it or not I actually have work to get done for school. ick. not too much thankfully, but it still has to happen. More pictures will be up tonight/tomorrow! Oh, and for those who didn't pick up on it, my new pictures are going in older albums...the Brisbane album will be getting updated frequently, I'm sure, and there's new orientation pictures! Next weekend there will be a Sydney album to look out for! :)
Much love!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment